Keynote Speakers

Dr. Joseph E. Stiglitz


Nobel Memorial Prize Laureate in Economic Sciences (2001)

2001 年获诺贝尔经济学奖

Dr. Joseph E. Stiglitz is an American economist and a professor at Columbia University. He is a recipient of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences in 2001 and the John Bates Clark Medal in1979. He is a former senior vice president and chief economist of the World Bank and is a former member and chairman of the (US president’s) Council of Economic Advisers. In 2000, Dr. Stiglitz founded the Initiative for Policy Dialogue (IPD), a think tank on international development based at Columbia University. He has been a member of the Columbia faculty since 2001, and received that university’s highest academic rank as an University Professor in 2003. He was the founding Chair of the University’s Committee on Global Thought. He also chairs the University of Manchester’s Brooks World Poverty Institute. He is a member of the Pontifical Academy of Social Sciences. He served as chair of the international Commission on the Measurement of Economic Performance and Social Progress and currently serves as co-chair of its successor, the High Level Expert Group on the Measurement of Economic Performance and Social Progress. Based on academic citations, Stiglitz is the 4th most influential economist in the world today, and in 2011 he was named by Time magazine as one of the 100 most influential people in the world. Dr. Stiglitz’s work focuses on income distribution from a Georgist perspective, asset risk management, corporate governance, and international trade. He is the author of several books, the latest being The Great Divide: Unequal Societies and What We Can Do About Them (2015), Rewriting the Rules of the American Economy: An Agenda for Growth and Shared Prosperity (2015), and Creating a Learning Society: A New Approach to Growth Development and Social Progress (2014). He was invited to give a Keynote Speech in the China Development Forum held in Beijing in March 2017.

Joseph E. Stiglitz 博士是哥伦比亚大学教授,2001年诺贝尔经济学奖得主,曾任世界银行首席经济学家,美国总统经济顾问委员会主席,现任经济合作与发展组织经济表现度量和社会发展高级专家组联席主席,罗斯福研究所首席经济学家。他的研究集中于收入分配、资产风险管理、企业管理以及国际贸易。2000年,Stiglitz教授建立了政策对话倡议组织,这是一个位于哥伦比亚大学的国际发展智库。Stiglit教授是世界上最有影响力的经济学家之一,曾被《时代》杂志评为全球100 位最有影响力的人物。


Dr. Xiaoliang Sunney Xie


Member of the National Academy of Sciences, and NA of Medicine


fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences


Dr. Xiaoliang Sunney Xie is the Mallinckrodt Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology at Harvard University. Dr. Xie has made major contributions to the emergence of the field of single-molecule biophysical chemistry and its application to biology. His team also pioneered the development of coherent Raman scattering microscopy and single cell whole genome sequencing. His honors include Albany Prize, the Harrison Howe Award, Biophysical Society Founders Award, E.O. Lawrence Award in Chemistry, Leibinger Innovation Prize, the NIH Director’s Pioneer Award, and the Sackler Prize for Physical Sciences. Dr. Xie is an AAAS (American Association for the Advancement of Science) fellow, and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Medicine.

谢晓亮 博士是哈佛大学教授,单分子酶学(Single Molecule Enzymology)的奠基人之一,大幅发展改良了单分子荧光显微镜(Single Molecule Microscopy)技术。谢晓亮教授对coherent anti-Stokes Raman spectroscopy (CARS Microscopy 相干反斯托克斯拉曼散射显微镜)以及stimulated Raman scattering microscopy(SRS Microscopy 受激拉曼散射显微镜),做出了创造性的巨大贡献。他是美国国家科学院与医学院院士,美国文理科学院院士.

Dr. Yitang “Tom” Zhang


Rolf Schock Prize Laureate in Mathematics (2014)

2014 年获瑞典皇家科学院罗夫·肖克数学奖

Dr. Zhang is a Professor of mathematics at the University of California, Santa Barbara. He established the first finite bound on gaps between prime numbers. This work led to a 2014 MacArthur award. Dr. Zhang’s other awards include the 2013 Morningside Special Achievement Award in Mathematics, the 2013 Ostrowski Prize, the 2014 Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Number Theory, and the 2014 Rolf Schock Prize in Mathematics. He was elected as an Academia Sinica Fellow in 2014.